Your Account/Pay Your Bill


Return to GFB News Bookmark and Share

Appointees named to GA agricultural commodity commissions


By: Georgia Department of Agriculture press release
8/22/2017 2:36:30 PM


The Ex Officio Committee for the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions met Aug. 1 to make the following appointments to serve on the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions:

Apples - David Lillard, Fannin County;
Blueberry - Steve Mullis, Bacon County, Russ Goodman, Clinch County, Shane Wade, Bacon County;
Corn - Robby Brett, Jefferson County, Randy Dowdy, Brooks County, Rodney Harrell, Lee County;
Cotton - Lee Cromley, Bulloch County, John Ruark, Morgan County, Chris Hopkins, Toombs County;
Equine - Ron Smith, Camden County;
Milk - Tim Camp, Putnam County, Judd Chambers, Jones County, Pete Gelber, Macon County;
Peach - Jeff Wainwright, Taylor County, Duke Lane III, Peach County, Lee Dickey, Crawford County;
Pecan - Lanair Worsham Jr., Mitchell County, R.G. Lamar, Pulaski County;
Soybean - Greg Mims, Seminole County, Tony Smith, Baker County, Mark Arial, Franklin County, Joe Moore, Gordon County (term to expire 2019), Brian Ogletree, Lamar County (term to expire 2019);
Tobacco - Carlos Vickers, Berrien County, Brant Clifton, Bulloch County; Vegetable - Dick Minor, Sumter County.

Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions are created by the Georgia Legislature and receive funds from farmer-approved market orders, which allow for collection of assessments on sale of the commodity. Funds received by the commodity commission can be spent for research, education and promotion of the commodity. The Equine Commission receives its funds from the sale of the Equine Specialty License plate for motor vehicles. Commission member terms are three years.


For more on this story: