Your Account/Pay Your Bill


Return to GFB News Bookmark and Share

USDA Appoints Georgians To Commodity Boards


By: Georgia Farm Bureau
1/23/2014 1:17:25 PM


Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack recently announced appointments to the national boards for beef, cotton and pork, among them a number of Georgians.

Vilsack appointed 41 members to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve three-year terms. Among the newly appointed members representing cattle producers is Georgia Farm Bureau Middle Georgia Vice President Robert Fountain Jr. of Emanuel County.

Georgians Dania DeVane of Randolph County and Markus E. Clemmer of Coffee County were among the 152 appointees to the National Pork Producers Delegate Body. The appointees were selected from nominees submitted by state pork producer association and importer groups and will serve a one-year term.

Vilsack appointed 17 members and 17 alternates to the Cotton Board. James L. Webb of Leary, Ga., was reappointed and Benjamin R. Grimsley of Webster County is a newly appointed alternate.

Jerome Tucker has been appointed as the new chair of the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Committee in Georgia. Tucker, from Lowndes County, replaces Ronald Lee.


For more on this story: