Your Account/Pay Your Bill


September 18, 2014




Tas Smith, (478) 474-0679, ext. 5404,




MACON, Ga. - The American Farm Bureau Federation has honored nine Georgia members of the U.S. House and Senate with the Friend of Farm Bureau Award for the 113th Congress. 

Sens. Saxby Chambliss and Johnny Isakson were honored, as were Reps. John Barrow (D-12th District), Sanford Bishop (D-2nd District), Jack Kingston (R-1st District), Austin Scott (R-8th District), David Scott (D-13th District), Lynn Westmoreland (R-3rd District) and Rob Woodall (R-7th District).

"Georgia Farm Bureau has long enjoyed strong relationships with the state's members of Congress, and we are blessed to have a group in Washington that understands agricultural issues and how laws affect farmers," said GFB President Zippy Duvall. "We'd like to thank each of them for their support, and the Friend of Farm Bureau Award is one way we do so."

The Friend of Farm Bureau Award, established in 1996 for the 104th Congress, is given to individuals who have supported Farm Bureau issues, as demonstrated by their voting records, and who were nominated by their respective state Farm Bureau and approved by American Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors, which selects the issues used to measure the voting records of nominated legislators. 

Additional criteria included number of bills each member sponsored or co-sponsored relating to Farm Bureau priority issues, specific leadership role in Congress on those issues and how accessible and responsive that member is to Farm Bureau members and leaders. Georgia Farm Bureau also has the opportunity to provide reasons why a specific member of Congress should receive the award. 


GFB will present the plaques to each of the recipients. 

Chambliss and Isakson will each receive the award for the seventh time, dating back to their service in the House of Representatives. Kingston is also being honored with the Friend of Farm Bureau Award for the seventh time. This is the fifth Friend of Farm Bureau Award for Bishop, and fourth each for Barrow and David Scott.

Four Georgia members of Congress received the award in 2012, six in 2010, nine in 2008, 12 each in 2006 and 2004 and 11 in 2002. 


Founded in 1937, Georgia Farm Bureau is the state’s largest general farm organization and has 158 county offices. Its volunteer members actively participate in local, state and national activities that promote agriculture awareness to their non-farming neighbors. GFB also has 20 agricultural commodity advisory committees that give the organization input on issues pertinent to the major crops and livestock grown in Georgia.