Ag News

David Scott seeks Ag Committee chair; 10 Georgia incumbents re-elected

by Georgia Farm Bureau

Posted on Nov 11, 2020 at 0:00 AM

Georgia Rep. David Scott (D- Georgia 13th District) is seeking the chairmanship of the U.S. House Agriculture Committee for the 117th Congress, which runs from 2021 to 2022. Current Ag Committee Chairman Collin Peterson (D-Minnesota) lost his bid for re-election in the Nov. 3 election, and with the Democratic Party keeping its House majority, another Democrat will succeed Peterson as chair. Rep. Jim Costa (D-California) has also announced his intention to pursue the chairmanship. Scott and Costa are both members of the current House Ag Committee.

Election results are unofficial until they are certified by the state. Georgia has until Nov. 20 to certify election results.

Pending final certification both of Georgia’s seats in the U.S. Senate will be chosen in a Jan. 5 runoff election, 10 of the state’s 14 House members were re-elected, including Agriculture Committee Members Austin Scott (R-Georgia 8th District) and Rick Allen (R-Georgia 12th District).

The four new representatives from Georgia all step into seats scheduled to be vacated following the end of the current session of Congress. Democrat Nikema Williams won the race for Georgia’s 5th District seat, previously held by the late John Lewis. Democrat Carolyn Bordeaux won the 7th District seat, previously held by Republican Rob Woodall, who opted not to seek re-election. Republican Andrew Clyde won the race for Georgia’s 9th District seat, previously held by Doug Collins, who stepped down to run for the U.S. Senate. Republican Marjorie Taylor Greene was elected to the 14th District seat previously held by Tom Graves, who opted not to seek re-election. 

Georgians have until Dec. 7 to register to vote in the Jan. 5 runoff for Georgia’s two senate seats. In one race, incumbent Republican David Perdue faces Democrat John Ossoff. In the other, incumbent Republican Kelly Loeffler, a member of the Senate Ag Committee, faces Democrat Raphael Warnock. Early voting begins Dec. 14.

  • Categories:
  • Tags: