Ag News

Georgia Farm Bureau presents 2023 state awards

by Jennifer Whittaker

Posted on Dec 14, 2023 at 23:13 PM

In ceremonies during the 86th Annual Georgia Farm Bureau (GFB) Convention, the organization announced the recipients of its Rewarding Excellence in Ag Program (REAP), as well as honoring 10 Volunteers of the Year and presenting the Ag In The Classroom Teacher of the Year Award.

REAP honors county chapters for activities they did in five program areas: organization/membership, advocacy, leadership development, education, and outreach between Sept. 1, 2022, and Aug. 31, 2023.

The REAP Awards are divided into three tiers, with tier winners in three membership categories.

The county winners in the top tier, HARVESTER, are:

Small Farm Bureau counties – Bacon (President David Lee, Office Manager Jeanne Taylor), Crawford (President Edward Harris), Dooly (President Teel Warbington, Office Manager Angela Barton), Turner (President Ross Kendrick, Office Manager Karen McCurdy) and Worth (President Ronald Sumner, Office Manager Connie Melton;

Medium Farm Bureau counties – Banks (President Jimmy Morrison, Office Manager Julie Jackson), Berrien (President Lamar Vickers, Office Manager Vanna Boykin), Clarke (President Dale Wood, Office Manager Katy Seagraves), Dawson (President Wayne Bennett, Office Manager Tammy Wood) and Harris (President Gilbert Andrews, Office Manager Linda Luttrell);

Large Farm Bureau counties – Carroll (President Doug Smith, Office Manager Jennifer Dixson), Cherokee (President William Grizzle, Office Manager Rhonda Stargel), Effingham (President Stuart Exley, Office Manager Theresa Peavey), McDuffie (President Mark Rodgers, Office Manager Kim-Cora Kay) and Walker (President Mike Bunn, Office Manager Kyla Compton).

Each Harvester County received a plaque and $1,500. Each county president received an embroidered jacket. Each county office manager received a $750 gift card.

The county winners in the second tier, PLANTER, are:

Small Farm Bureau counties – Crisp (President Kenny Sheffield, Office Manager Macey Dennard), Marion (President Ray Rustin, Office Manager Brianna Weber), Taliaferro (President Tucker West, Office Manager Melanie Finney),Treutlen (President Kim Thompson) and Warren (President Tammy Cheely, Office Manager Lisa Smith);

Medium Farm Bureau counties – Bryan (President Shaun Page, Office Manager Brianna Oglesby),Greene (President Dene Channell, Office Manager Shirley Duvall), Jeff Davis (President James Emory Tate, Office Manager Regina Barton), Polk (President James Casey, Office Manager Sue Cuzzort), and Screven (President Joe Boddiford, Office Manager Beth Reddick);

Large Farm Bureau counties – Coffee (President Derek Pridgen, Office Manager Carla Palmer),Colquitt (President Stanley Bass, Office Manager Greta Collins), Elbert (President Mandy Williams, Office Manager Haley Oakley), Franklin (President Michael Thomason, Office Manager Rebecca Whitfield) and Henry (Outgoing President Ross McQueen, Office Manager Jean Dykes);

Each Planter County received a plaque. Each county president received an embroidered vest. Each county office manager received a $500 gift card.

The winners in the third tier, CULTIVATOR, are:

Small Farm Bureau Counties – Ben Hill (President Glenn Stokes, Office Manager Denise Coleman), Jasper (President Scotty Dumas, Office Manager Loretha Gage), Long (President Manuel Sneed, Office Manager Margaret Bess), Putnam (Outgoing President Jesse Patrick, Office Manager Marjorie Hanson), and Upson (President Marcus South, Office Manager Judy Warren);

Medium Farm Bureau Counties – Decatur (President Judson Hornsby, Office Manager Lisa Green), Dougherty (President Laney Wooten, Office Manager Cindy Drew), Floyd (President Carey Harris, Office Manager  Kelli Shaw), Monroe (outgoing President Clete Sanders, Office Manager Sandi Williams), and Toombs (President Chris Hopkins, Office Manager Shelby Galbreath);

Large Farm Bureau counties – Barrow (President Russ Wilburn, Office Manager Ashley Lowery), Habersham (President Chip Brooks), Haralson (President Jack Williams, Office Manager Kim Hindmon), Madison (President Russ Moon, Office Manager Lauren Lord), and Newton (President Chuck Berry, Office Manager Mary Corley).

Each Cultivator County received a plaque. Each county president received an embroidered shirt, and each county office manager received a $300 gift card.

Samantha “Sam” Camp of Mount Zion Elementary School in Carroll County was presented Georgia Farm Bureau's 2023 Georgia Agriculture in the Classroom Teacher of the Year Award. The award is given in recognition of teachers who incorporate agriculture topics into their class curriculum.

Camp teaches Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) to kindergarteners through fifth grade. She has been teaching for seven years and wants to ensure that her students  understand the importance of farming and growing crops to survive. Her students love going outside, getting their hands dirty and taking care of the animals on the school campus.

As the award winner, Camp receives $500 courtesy of Georgia EMC and a trip to the 2024 National Ag in the Classroom Conference in Salt Lake City next June sponsored by the Georgia Foundation for Agriculture.

GFB also recognized 10 district Volunteers of the Year for extraordinary efforts to promote agriculture in their local communities. The Volunteers of the Year are: 1st District – Frank Wright, Gilmer County; 2nd District – Zach McCann, Banks County; 3rd District – Cam Floyd, Douglas County; 4th District – Christan Rosier, McDuffie County; 5th District – Melissa Mathis, Monroe County; 6th District – Fran Watts, Treutlen County; 7th District – Charlene Morgan, Effingham County; 9th District – John Takash, Dougherty County and 10th District - Peggy Lee, Bacon County.

  • Categories:
  • Tags: