Ag News

Georgia producers appointed to commodity commissions

by Georgia Department of Agriculture

Posted on Jul 07, 2021 at 0:00 AM

Ex officio members of the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions met June 30 to make appointments to several of the commissions.  The following appointments were approved:

Andy Futch and John Reece, both of Gilmer County, were reappointed to the Apple Commission.

John Strickland of Clinch County was appointed to the Blueberry Commission with Jerome Crosby of Atkinson County being reappointed.

Kristy Arnold of Wayne County was appointed to the Beef Commission with Kenneth Murphy of Meriweather County reappointed to fulfil the dairy requirement.

Lee Webster of Burke County was appointed to the Corn Commission and Herbert “Hub” Daniel of Evans County has been reappointed.

Chad Mathis of Baker County and Bart Davis of Colquitt County were reappointed to the Cotton Commission.

Julie Murphy of Brooks County and Robin Ginn of Madison County were appointed to the Equine Commission.  Cassie Harper of Cook County was appointed as an advisory member.

Ailene Schaapman of Wilcox County was appointed to the Milk Commission and Paul Johnson of Decatur County was reappointed.

Lawton Pearson of Crawford County and Drew Echols of Hall County were reappointed to the Peach Commission.

Emory Mixon of Toombs County was appointed to the Pecan Commission.  Brenda Evans of Peach County and Roy Goodson of Lee County were reappointed.

Daniel Johnson of Pierce County and Wayne McKinnon of Coffee County were reappointed to the Tobacco Commission.

Jason Tyrone of Lowndes County was appointed to the Vegetable Commission and Bill Brim of Tift County and Jamie Brannen of Echols County were reappointed to the commission.

The Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions were created by legislation the Georgia General Assembly passed at the request of producers who grow the various crops the commissions represent. The commissions operate under marketing orders approved by the growers, who pay an assessment on their respective crops or livestock. These assessments fund the research, education and promotion activities each commission coordinates to promote its respective commodity. Commission members are appointed for terms of three years and can be considered for reappointment.  

  • Categories:
  • Tags: