Ag News

USDA declares 18 Georgia counties as disaster areas


Posted on Jul 12, 2023 at 0:00 AM

On June 26, the USDA issued a natural disaster designation in response to the mid-March freeze for 18 Georgia counties. The natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

The primary counties under the June 26 disaster declaration are Banks, Crawford, Fannin, Gilmer, Habersham, Hall, Jackson, Johnson, Macon, Madison, Meriwether, Monroe, Peach, Pike, Taylor, Towns, Union and Upson.

Producers in an additional 38 Georgia counties are also eligible for federal disaster assistance programs under this declaration. Those counties are Barrow, Bibb, Butts, Clarke, Coweta, Dawson, Dooly, Elbert, Emanuel, Forsyth, Franklin, Gordon, Gwinnett, Harris, Hart, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Jones, Lamar, Laurens, Lumpkin, Marion, Murray, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Pickens, Rabun, Schley, Spalding, Stephens, Sumter, Talbot, Treutlen, Troup, Washington, White and Wilkinson.

For more information about federal disaster assistance on, visit the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Loan Assistance Tool to help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

  • Categories:
  • Tags: