Ag News

USDA designates 26 Georgia Counties as primary natural disaster areas


Posted on Sep 27, 2023 at 15:34 PM

On Sept. 19, U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack issued two natural disaster declarations that cover 26 primary counties and 36 contiguous counties in Georgia.

These secretarial natural disaster designation allow the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Vilsack issued a natural disaster declaration for 25 primary counties and an additional 29 contiguous counties in Georgia for tornado, high winds, hail, lightning, and excessive rains that occurred in these areas between May 12 and June 26. 

The primary Georgia counties under this declaration are: Atkinson, Berrien, Brooks, Calhoun, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Dougherty, Early, Echols, Evans, Grady, Lanier, Lee, Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell, Sumter, Tattnall, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Ware and Worth.

Contiguous Georgia counties under the Sept. 19 declaration are: Georgia: Appling, Bacon, Baker, Ben Hill, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Candler, Charlton, Clay, Crisp, Decatur, Dooly, Emanuel, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Liberty, Long, Macon, Marion, Pierce, Randolph, Schley, Seminole, Telfair, Toombs, Turner, Wayne and Webster.

In a separate action, Meriwether County received a secretarial disaster declaration triggered by excessive wind and hail that occurred on March 26. Contiguous counties covered by this declaration are: Coweta, Harris, Pike, Spalding, Talbot, Troup and Upson.

The application deadline for assistance under this declaration is April 30, 2024.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.

  • Categories:
  • Tags: