Ag News

USDA disaster declarations cover 10 Georgia counties


Posted on Jul 27, 2022 at 0:00 AM

Under two USDA national disaster designations, announced July 12 and July 19, 10 Georgia counties are eligible for emergency loans from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency.

Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

The July 19 designation named Liberty, Long and McIntosh counties as primary disaster areas due to ongoing drought conditions. Producers in contiguous counties Bryan, Evans, Glynn, Tattnall and Wayne are also eligible for emergency loans.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional. The deadline to apply for assistance under this declaration is March 13, 2023.

On July 12, the USDA designated six South Carolina counties (Cherokee, Edgefield, Greenville, Saluda, Spartanburg and Union) as primary natural disaster areas due to freeze conditions that occurred March 12-14. Georgia’s Columbia and Richmond counties are eligible for emergency loans because they are contiguous to one or more affected South Carolina counties. The deadline for producers to apply for assistance under this declaration is Feb. 28, 2023.

More disaster assistance information can be found on, including the Drought Webpage, Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool.

For FSA and Natural Resources Conservation Service programs, including LFP and ELAP, producers should contact their local USDA Service Center. For assistance with a crop insurance claim, producers and landowners should contact their crop insurance agent.

  • Categories:
  • Tags: