Press Releases

GFB Presents Friend of Farm Bureau Awards to Members of Congressional Delegation

Posted on May 23, 2019 at 0:00 AM


May 23, 2019 

CONTACT: Jeffrey Harvey,


In recognition of support for Georgia's farmers during the 115th Congress, Georgia Farm Bureau present the Friend of Farm Bureau Award to 11 members of Georgia's U.S. Congressional Delegation during the recent 2019 GFB County Presidents’ Trip to Washington, D.C. The American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) gives the award at the end of each Congress to lawmakers who are nominated by their state Farm Bureaus. 

To qualify, a congressman must vote in agreement with AFBF on at least 70% of selected bills affecting agriculture. AFBF has given the Friend of Farm Bureau Award since 1996.

 “Support from our members of Congress has always been vitally important for the continued success of Georgia farmers,” Georgia Farm Bureau President Gerald Long said. “We’re grateful they support Farm Bureau’s position on key farm issues.”

Sens. Johnny Isakson and David Perdue, both Republicans, received the award, as did Reps. Rick Allen (R-12th District); Buddy Carter (R-1st District); Doug Collins (R-9th District); Drew Ferguson (R-3rd District) Tom Graves (R-14th District); Jody Hice (R-10th District); Barry Loudermilk (R-11th District); Austin Scott (R-8th District); Rob Woodall (R-7th District.

Perdue is a member of the Senate Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee. Allen and Scott serve on the House Agriculture Committee. Hice is a member of the House Committee on Natural Resources. 

In awarding the Friend of Farm Bureau Award, AFBF considered the votes legislators cast on legislation pertaining to trade, regulatory reform, farm policy, immigration reform and more. The AFBF Board of Directors, on which Georgia Farm Bureau President Gerald Long serves, established these priority issues.                

  • Categories:
  • Tags: